What is the World Poker Championship?

There is no World Poker Championship per se, though there are two major poker tournaments that are both often referred to as such. These are the World Series of Poker and the World Poker Tour.

The World Series of Poker (or WSOP) is the biggest and most famous of poker tournaments that take place. It is held in Las Vegas each year and has been doing so since 1970, after seven of the world’s most renowned poker players were invited to play a tournament by Benny Binion. The rest, as they say, is history. Whoever wins an event at the World Series of Poker wins a coveted World Series bracelet, along with a significant prize fund that varies depending on the buy-in of the event and the size of the field. The largest prize fund ever bagged at the World Series was in 2006 by Jamie Gold, who walked away an impressive $12,000,000 richer.

The World Poker Tour (or WPT), is a series of poker events that takes place in various countries across the globe, but started in the US in 2002. Since then it has continued to grow, and today the tournament attracts a large number of professional poker. The WPT is a televised event, and is famously hosted by poker legends Vince Van Patten and Mike Sexton. In 2008, the WPT also expanded to host an all-female version of the tournament, which is known as the WPT Ladies event. Female poker professional Nancy Todd won the first Ladies Championship, whilst female poker legend Vanessa Selbst came second. The WPT also has its own Poker Hall of Fame, which honours players who have exceeded expectations to walk away with large sums of money in the face of adversity. Some of those players include James Garner, Doyle Brunson and Gus Hanson.

To summarise, there is no World Poker Championship, but these two famous events are both often considered to be the world’s largest poker events.

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022