World Series of Poker: the World’s premier poker World Championship Tournament

About World Series of Poker Tournament

The World Series of Poker(WSOP) is a series of annual poker world championship tournaments that play host to the ultimate poker showdown. The best poker players from around the world step up to play high-stake poker for cash prices and the coveted World Series of Poker champions bracelet, similar to a trophy in football.

WSOP has traditionally been held in Las Vegas USA, since its inception in the early 1970’s. Over the course of time the tournament has grown significantly, both in the number of participants and tournament events featured. This has necessitated the expansion of the tournament outside its traditional home in Las Vegas.

Inaugural World Series of Poker Europe

September 2007 saw the first WSOP championship events held outside of Las Vegas in London. The inaugural World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) came complete with poker bracelets and attractive monetary incentives. It offered plenty of action and proved a huge success, which opened doors for possibilities of future events taking place in more venues outside the US.

The final table of the Main Event in the inaugural WSOPE championship in London was a GBP 10,000 buy-in no-limit hold 'em tournament that was won by the Norwegian Annette Obrestad. Since Annette’s win, John Juanda, Barry Shulman and James Bord have respectively won the WSOPE Main Event, as of 2010.

Tournament Prices and Awards

WSOP events traditionally take place in the month of June and July and run for one day or several days consecutively in the series. The Main Eventfinal table, however, starts in November. Usually, about 58 tournament events are held, most of which are variants of major poker and Texas hold ‘em.

Winners of events not only get the highest monetary prize and a gold bracelet, but they additionally get their picture placed in the Gallery of Champions at Binion's casino in Las Vegas -- the place that made poker famous. Moreover, the winner of the Main Event is traditionally awarded the unofficial title of World Champion.

Player of the Year Award

All poker world championship events, including the Main Event count towards Player of the Year Award. Originally, the Player of the Year Award was awarded to a player based upon his aggregated performance at the WSOP tournament in Las Vegas. Things, however, have changed starting from 2011 going forward.

In addition to considering performance in the WOSP tournament in Las Vegas, WSOPE performance results also determine the awarding of the Player of the Year title. Indeed the poker world championship series presents plenty of exciting action and entertainment!

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2022